ITA Announces Selections for USTA/ITA Indoor Intercollegiate Championships

The ITA announced the selections for the 2010 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships, featuring the nation's top men's and women's collegiate tennis players competing at the new indoor facilities at the USTA-Billie Jean King National Tennis Center, located in Flushing, New York. Columbia University will serve as the tournament host.

These championships feature a 32-player singles field and 16-team doubles field for men and women, including: champions from USTA/ITA Regional Championships held across the country during October, the USTA/ITA National Small College "Super Bowl" champions, the doubles champions and singles quarterfinalists from the D'Novo/ITA Men's and Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships, as well as at-large and wild card selections made by the ITA National Tournament Committee.

The participants of the 2010 championships include some of the best and brightest players in college tennis. The top eight men's and women's singles seeds and top four doubles seeds for this week's championships are as follows:

Men's Singles

  1. Alex Domijan - Virginia
  2. Eric Quigley - Kentucky
  3. Henrique Cunha - Duke
  4. Bradley Klahn - Stanford
  5. J.P. Smith - Tennessee
  6. Guillermo Gomez - Georgia Tech
  7. Steve Johnson - USC
  8. Michael Shabaz - Virginia

Women's Singles

  1. Hilary Barte - Stanford
  2. Jana Juricova - California
  3. Kristy Frilling - Notre Dame
  4. Denise Muresan - Michigan
  5. Denise Dy - Washington
  6. Allie Will - Florida
  7. Maria Sanchez - USC
  8. Reka Zsilinszka - Duke

Men's Doubles

  1. Courtney - Shabaz - Virginia
  2. Carleton - Cunha - Duke
  3. Inbar - Meister - UCLA
  4. Klahn - Thacher - Stanford

Women's Doubles

  1. Barte - Burdette - Stanford
  2. Andersson - Juricova - California
  3. Bek - Wong - Clemson
  4. Guarachi - McLane - Alabama

This event was inaugurated in 1978 for the men and 1984 for the women and past champions and finalists include current professionals Benjamin Becker (Baylor), James Blake (Harvard), Bob and Mike Bryan (Stanford), Somdev Devvarman (Virginia), Laura Granville (Stanford), John Isner (Georgia) and Lisa Raymond (Florida). Big Ten legends and Grand Slam finalists Todd Martin (Northwestern) and MaliVai Washington (Michigan) are also among the past champions.

Complete coverage of the USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships can be located at

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association serves as the governing body of collegiate tennis in the United States. For the latest in college tennis news, rankings and events, visit .

Discuss This Article