A Triathlon Classic: Subaru Ironman Canada

<strong>Lisa Bentley crosses the line to win the 2007 Subaru Ironman Canada in 9:41:02.</strong><br><br>Photo courtesy of ASI

For highlights of the 2008 Subaru Ironman Canada, visit the NA Sports Screening Room.

On August 24, the Okanagan Valley of British Columbia will once again play host to one of the triathlon world's favorite races when 2,300 competitors begin the 2008 Subaru Ironman Canada.

Since 1983, Subaru Ironman Canada has challenged the best triathletes in the world to complete the journey of a 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike and 26.2-mile run. Paula Newby-Fraser, Scott Tinley and Peter Reid have each won here. Lisa Bentley of Caledon, Ontario, can boast three wins at IM Canada, including the 2007 women's race.

Over the years, the course has hosted some of the most famous names in the sport. Paula Newby-Fraser and Scott Tinley have each won here, while Canadians Peter Reid and Lisa Bentley have both won twice.


Lori Bowden, a two-time Ironman World Champion and Victoria, B.C. native, has won this race five times, more than any other elite athlete.

On the men's side, Ray Browning of Denver, Colorado, dominated the race in the early years, with wins in 1988, 1989 and 1990.

In addition to Bentley, who will defend her crown, 2008 will also feature past Subaru Ironman Canada winners Jasper Blake and Belinda Granger. Blake, who lives and trains in Victoria, B.C., was the 2006 Subaru Ironman Canada champion and twice reached the podium here.

Granger was the women's champion at this event in 2006. She most recently posted a win at the 2008 Ironman Malaysia event.

Others to watch in the women's pro field include four-time Ironman champion Katja Schumacher of Germany and newcomer Heather Wurtele of Victoria, B.C.—the surprise winner at the 2008 Ford Ironman Coeur d'Alene.

The pro men's race will include the 2007 Subaru Ironman Canada second-place finisher Jonathan Caron, a Penticton, B.C.-resident. The hometown favorite will have to contend with Gordo Byrn, who has finished on the podium three times at the event, and multiple Ironman winners Bryan Rhodes and Jason Shortis.

  • 1
  • of
  • 2

Discuss This Article