USTA Awards Five US Open Junior Wild Cards

The USTA announced recently the names of eight boys and eight girls who have been offered wild card entries into the 2010 US Open boys' and girls' singles championships. The US Open Junior Championships will be played September 5–12 at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y.

Five players who have won USTA National Championships this year were granted wild card entries – Jack Sock (USTA Boys' 18s), Michael Redlicki (USTA Boys' 16s), Bjorn Fratangelo (USTA Boys' 18s Clays), Caroline Price (USTA Girls'18s Clays) and Kyle McPhillips (USTA Girls' 16s) – in addition to runner-up Nicole Gibbs (USTA Girls' 18s) and 2010 French Open boys' singles runner-up Andrea Collarini.

US Open Boys' Main Draw Wild Card Recipients

Andrea Collarini (18, Boca Raton, Fla.)
Mitchell Frank (17, Annandale, Va.)
Bjorn Fratangelo (17, Pittsburgh)
Evan King (18, Chicago)
Daniel Kosakowski (18, Downey, Calif.)
Mitchell Krueger (16, Aledo, Texas)
Michael Redlicki (16, Hawthorn Woods, Ill.)
Jack Sock (17, Lincoln, Neb.)

US Open Girls' Main Draw Wild Card Recipients

Victoria Duval (14, Norcross, Ga.)
Nicole Gibbs (17, Santa Monica, Calif.)
Madison Keys (15, Boca Raton, Fla.)
Kyle McPhillips (16, Willoughby, Ohio)
Jessica Pegula (16, Boca Raton, Fla.)
Caroline Price (17, Duluth, Ga.)
Ellen Tsay (16, Pleasanton, Calif.)
Sachia Vickery (15, Miramar, Fla.)

In addition to the main draw wild cards, the USTA has also announced the names of four boys and six girls who have been offered wild card entries into the junior qualifying tournament, which will be played September 3-4.

Girls' qualifying wild cards have been offered to Gabrielle Andrews (13, Pomona, Calif.), Brooke Austin (14, Indianapolis), Anne-Liz Jeuking-Nkamgouo (14, Kansas City, Mo.), Christina Makarova (14, San Diego), Taylor Townsend (14, Stockbridge, Ga.) and Japanese high school champion Miharu Imanishi. Boys' qualifying wild cards have been offered to Alexios Halebian (16, Glendale, Calif.), Mackenzie McDonald (15, Piedmont, Calif.), Spencer Papa (14, Edmund, Okla.), and Japanese high school champion Daiki Kondo. Two additional wild cards into the boys' qualifying draw will be announced at a later time.

Three US Open Junior Champions – Andy Roddick (2000), Lindsay Davenport (1992) and Stefan Edberg (1983) – went on to win the US Open singles title, as did junior runners-up Roger Federer (1998), Boris Becker (1984), Svetlana Kuznetsova (2001) and Martina Hingis (1994).

The 2010 US Open will be held Monday, August 30 through Sunday, September 12. Tickets for the 2010 US Open can be purchased four ways: 1) at; 2) by calling Ticketmaster at 1-866­OPEN-TIX; 3) at all Ticketmaster outlets; or 4) at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center box office. American Express is the Official Card of the US Open.

To get started playing tennis in a location near you visit the USTA's Tennis Welcome Center . Find more tennis technique information at the USTA Player Development Web site .

Discuss This Article