21 Unexpected Foods That May Contain Gluten

When it comes to foods that contain gluten—the protein found in wheat, rye and barley—the usual suspects are bread, pasta, cookies and cake. But there's a long list of less-obvious foods that may also be shacking up with gluten.

If you have celiac disease, or an intolerance or sensitivity to gluten, the golden rule is this: read labels.

The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 made it mandatory for the word "wheat" to appear on food labels of products containing wheat or proteins derived from wheat. That makes it easier to know if, in fact, your food includes gluten. Too, many companies now display the words "gluten-free" on their food packaging.

More: Should Non-Celiac Endurance Athletes Go Gluten-Free?

Although many brands are creating gluten-free versions of the following fare, unless the label clearly confirms that, don't assume these foods are without gluten:

  • Blue cheese
  • Bouillon cubes
  • Couscous
  • Deli meats
  • Dry-roasted nuts
  • Hot chocolate mixes
  • Hot dogs
  • Jelly beans
  • Licorice
  • Malt vinegar
  • Miso
  • Non-dairy creamer
  • Oatmeal
  • Pickles
  • Pudding
  • Salad dressings
  • Seasoned potato or tortilla chips
  • Soups
  • Soy sauce
  • Spice blends, such as allspice
  • Veggie burgers

More: 5 Gluten-Free, High-Carb Meals for Runners

Active logo Perfect your nutrition to boost your performance. Sign up for a race near you.

About the Author

Nicole Reino

Nicole Reino is the former nutrition editor for Active.com. She's a yogi, runner, cook and real-foods enthusiast.

Nicole Reino is the former nutrition editor for Active.com. She's a yogi, runner, cook and real-foods enthusiast.

Discuss This Article