Top Teenagers Heading to USA Basketball Mini-Camp

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Featuring 15 of the nation's top sophomores and 18 premiere freshmen, USA Basketball today announced that 33 players aged 14 and 15 years old have accepted invitations from the USA Basketball Men's Developmental National Team Committee to attend the 2010 USA Men's Developmental National Team mini-camp that will be held Oct. 9-10 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo.

The USA Basketball Developmental National Team mini-camp will be utilized to help identify players for the 2011-12 USA Basketball Developmental National Team program and to help prepare the U.S. for the 2011 FIBA Americas U16 Championship (dates and site TBA). The 2011 USA Basketball U16 Championship Team will be comprised of Developmental National Team members, and in order to be eligible, an athlete must be a U.S. citizen born on or after Jan. 1, 1995.

The group is highlighted by 10 members of the iHoops First Team program: Parker Cartwright (Loyola H.S. / Valley Glen, Calif.); Tyler Herron (St. Edward H.S. / Willoughby Hills, Ohio); Jabari Parker (Simeon H.S. / Chicago, Ill.); Leron Black (White Station H.S. / Memphis, Tenn.); Jordan Swopshire (Fort Zumwalt West H.S. / O'Fallon, Mo.); Larry Austin (Lanphier H.S. / Springfield, Ill.); Eric Cooper, Jr. (Lutheran H.S. / Ontario, Calif.); Dakari Johnson (St. Patrick H.S. (N.J.) / Brooklyn, N.Y.); Tyus Jones (Apple Valley H.S. / Apple Valley, Minn.); and Jackson Davis (Lafayette H.S. / Lexington, Ky.).

Others participating in the October mini-camp include: Shaqquan Aaron (Mater Dei H.S. / Apple Valley, Calif.); Nathan Adrian (Morgantown H.S. /Morgantown, W.Va.); Anton Beard (Parkview Magnet H.S. / Little Rock, Ark.); James Blackmon, Jr. (Bishop Luers H.S. / Fort Wayne, Ind.); Jonathan Carson (Messmer H.S. / Milwaukee, Wis.); Dominique Collier (Denver East H.S. / Denver, Colo.); Devin Davis (Warren Central H.S. / Indianapolis, Ind.); Stephen Domingo (Saint Ignatius College Prep / San Francisco, Calif.); Demonte Flannigan (Villa Angela-St. Joseph H.S. / Richmond Heights, Ohio); Conner Frankamp (Wichita North H.S. / Wichita, Kan.); Aaron Gordon (Archbishop Mitty H.S. / San Jose, Calif.); Ikenna Iroegbu (Franklin H.S. / Elk Grove, Calif.); Stanley Johnson (Mater Dei H.S. / Fullerton, Calif.); Khadeem Lattin (Second Baptist H.S. / Houston, Texas); Jalen Lindsey (Christ Presbyterian Academy / Franklin, Tenn.); Kennedy Meeks (West Charlotte H.S. / Charlotte, N.C.); Jahlil Okafor (Whitney Young H.S. / Chicago, Ill.); Malik Price-Martin (Monsignor Edward Pace H.S. / Miami, Fla.); Theo Pinson (Oak Ridge Military Academy / Greensboro, N.C.); Charles Tucker (Lansing Eastern H.S. / Lansing, Mich.); Johnnie Vassar (Lawrence Academy / Chicago, Ill.); Johnathan Williams (Southwind H.S. / Memphis, Tenn.); and Justise Winslow (St. John's School / Houston, Texas).

"We're going to find out a lot about the 33 who come to the mini-camp. We like kids that can play different positions, we like kids that are athletic that can play defense, and I think we're going to find all that out during the mini-camp," said Mid-Prairie High School (Iowa) head coach Don Showalter , who will direct the players during the mini-camp after leading the U.S. to gold medal finishes at the 2009 FIBA Americas U16 Championship and the 2010 FIBA U17 World Championship.

Discuss This Article