Rosters Announced for 2010 Amgen Tour of California

The world-class roster of teams and cyclists* scheduled to participate in the 2010 Amgen Tour of California has been announced by race presenter AEG. An internationally sanctioned, professional cycling road race, the 2010 Amgen Tour of California will host 16 teams, comprised of 127 riders, from 23 countries for the fifth-annual race taking place May 16-23.

The 2010 Amgen Tour of California will bring an exceptional concentration of cycling talent to compete across more than 800 miles of the state of California from Nevada City to Thousand Oaks, home of race sponsor Amgen. Attracting an unprecedented field of riders from around the world, cyclists hail from countries as far away as Belgium, Finland, Spain, France, Germany, New Zealand and Sweden.

"We are proud of the powerful and talented group of international and domestic cyclists set to participate in the 2010 Amgen Tour of California," said Andrew Messick, president of AEG Sports. "From Tour de France champions to Olympic medalists and world champions, this field is one of the best that has ever competed on American soil. The growing reputation of the Amgen Tour of California has resulted in a very accomplished field of cyclists, which should make for a great race."

The field will include riders from well-known teams such as Team RadioShack, Team HTC-Columbia, Quick Step, Team Saxo Bank and Garmin-Transitions, who will all be competing to take the title in the overall team competition.

Current National Champions Competing (By Country)

Michael Rogers (AUS), Team Columbia-Highroad, Time Trial
Tom Boonen (BEL), Quick Step, Road Race
Matti Breschel (DEN), Team Saxo Bank, Road Race
Lars Ytting Bak (DEN), Team HTC-Columbia, Time Trial
Andy Schleck (LUX), Team Saxo Bank, Road Race
Stef Clement (NED), Rabobank, Time Trial
Jeremy Vennell (NZL), Bissell, Time Trial
Janez Brajkovic (SLO), Team RadioShack, Time Trial
Fabian Cancellara (SUI), Team Saxo Bank, Road Race
George Hincapie (USA), BMC Racing Team, Road Race
David Zabriskie (USA), Garmin-Transitions, Time Trial
The 2010 Amgen Tour of California roster includes the following 16 professional cycling teams. The seven ProTour teams compete regularly on the UCI's ProTour race calendar, including the Grand Tours of Europe -- Tour de France, Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espa?a.

*Team rosters are subject to change

Pro Tour Teams

Garmin-Transitions (USA)
Steven Cozza (USA)
Thomas Danielson (USA)
Ryder Hesjedal (CAN)
Robbie Hunter (RSA)
Thomas Peterson (USA)
Peter Stetina (USA)
Matthew Wilson (AUS)
David Zabriskie (USA)

Liquigas-Doimo (ITA)
Francesco Bellotti (ITA)
Francesco Chicchi (ITA)
Davide Cimolai (ITA)
Manuel Quinziato (ITA)
Peter Sagan (SVK)
Ivan Santaromita (ITA)
Brian Vandborg (DEN)
Elia Viviani (ITA)

Quick Step (BEL)
Carlos Barredo Llamazales (ESP)
Tom Boonen (BEL)
Kurt Hovelynck (BEL)
Kevin Hulsmans (BEL)
Nikolas Maes (BEL)
Andreas Stauff (GER)
Jurgen Van De Walle (BEL)
Maarten Wynants (BEL)

Discuss This Article

Follow your passions

Connect with ACTIVE.COM